Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Hockey World Cup

Folks, I am sure that most of us are not even aware that the Hockey World Cup is coming up, it starts 28th February 2010. what a day to have a start. Anyways my point here is - if it would have been a Cricket World Cup, every single soul in India would have been aware of it. Why is that people in India have made 'Cricket' so much popular, is that beacause it has the money? Why every kid round the corner wants to become a Sachin Tendulkar of tomorrow? Why anybody does not want to become Pargat Sigh? I really fail to understand why in India we can not promote a game like Hockey or for that matter any other game? For God's sake, we are hosting the Commonwealth Games this time but do we have the atheletes or players that can bring us Gold medals or do we have that enthusiasm that we see in Cricket?

Folks, I undertsand that part of the problem lies in the burucracy that can not even pay enough or rather a good salary to the palyers of other games, then how can we also expect them to play with that spirit? The recent furore that was created by the Indian hockey team (both male & female) was perfectly justified. We really need to build good sportsmen & sportswomen and for that we not only need the support from the relevant government departments to promote these games but we also need to inculcate that spirit in the youngsters that Cricket is not the only game that India plays, we play Hockey & other games as well.

Media people, please promote the game of Hockey as you prmote Cricket and then let players say - 'Chak De India'.

No comments:

Post a Comment